Skip to main content

Long Island Memories

Add or remove other collections to your search:



Narrow your search by:



You've searched: All Collections

  • All fields: 1955
(539 results)



Display: 50

    • Massapequa Public Library Board of Trustees - 1955

    • Massapequa Public Library (Storefront); Public libraries; Storefronts; Library trustees; Haight, Father John Malcolm; Donderi, Louise; Melkin, Corinne; Goss, George; Harte, George
    • Black and white photograph of the members of the Board of Trustees of the Massapequa Public Library in January of 1955. Pictured from left to right are: Father John Malcolm Haight, Chairman; Mrs. Louise C. Donderi, Secretary; Mrs. Corinne Melkin,...
    • Massapequa Library Director and Board - 1955

    • Massapequa Public Library (Storefront); Public libraries; Storefronts; Library trustees; Library directors; Haight, Father John Malcolm; Moran, Virginia; Donderi, Louise; Melkin, Corinne; Goss, George; Harte, George
    • Black and white photograph of the Board of Trustees and the Library Director of the Massapequa Public Library in January of 1955. Pictured in the back row from left to right are: Mr. George L. Goss, Treasurer; Father John Malcolm Haight, Chairman...
    • [Hurricane Connie]

    • Hurricanes--New York (State)--Long Island History--20th century
    • Color photograph of Maple Place looking north from Mill Road. The flooded streets are the result of Hurricane Connie that hit Long Island on August 13, 1955. This photograph was created from a color slide.
    • [Hurricane Connie]

    • Hurricanes--New York (State)--Long Island History--20th century
    • Color picture of Commercial Street and Broadway looking east. The flooded streets are the result of Hurricane Connie that hit Long Island on August 13, 1955. This photograph was created from a color slide.
    • [Hurricane Connie]

    • Hurricanes--New York (State)--Long Island History--20th century
    • Color photograph of Dean Street looking west from Jay Street. The flooded streets are the result of Hurricane Connie that hit Long Island on August 13, 1955. This photograph was created from a color slide.
    • [Hurricane Connie]

    • Hurricanes--New York (State)--Long Island History--20th century
    • Color photograph of North Main Street looking north from Independence Avenue. The flooded streets are the result of Hurricane Connie that hit Long Island on August 13, 1955. This photograph was created from a color slide.
    • [Hurricane Connie]

    • Hurricanes--New York (State)--Long Island History--20th century
    • Color photograph of Brooklyn Avenue looking east from Ocean Avenue. The flooded streets are the result of Hurricane Connie that hit Long Island on August 13, 1955. This photograph was created from a color slide.
    • [Hurricane Connie]

    • Hurricanes--New York (State)--Long Island History--20th century
    • Color photograph of Parking Field Number 4 looking south from Randall Avenue. The flooded streets are the result of Hurricane Connie that hit Long Island on August 13, 1955. This photograph was created from a color slide.
    • [Hurricane Connie]

    • Hurricanes--New York (State)--Long Island History--20th century
    • Color photograph of Brooklyn Avenue looking west from Grove Street [now Guy Lombardo Avenue]. The flooded streets are the result of Hurricane Connie that hit Long Island on August 13, 1955. This photograph was created from a color slide.
    • [Men on dock with fish]

    • Piers and wharves; Fishermen; Fish; Marinaccio, Carmine; Waterfronts
    • Black and white photograph of Carmine Marinaccio with a party member from the Freeport Boatmans' Association on a dock holding up their catch of the day. The reverse of the photograph says 6/22/55 No. Shore Party.
    • Construction Site for Massapequa Library 523 Central Avenue

    • Massapequa Public Library (Central Avenue Building); Public libraries; Construction; Signs (Notices)
    • Black and white photograph of construction site for Massapequa Public Library Central Avenue Building as seen at the start of construction. The photograph was taken on December 27th, 1955, and the photographer's vantage point is looking north...
    • Massapequa Public Library Original Board of Trustees

    • Massapequa Public Library (Storefront); Public libraries; Library trustees; Haight, Father John Malcolm; Donderi, Louise; Melkin, Corinne; Goss, George
    • Black and white photograph of original Board of Trustees of the Massapequa Library, seated inside the library's original storefront location on 526 Broadway. Seated from left to right are: Father John Malcolm Haight, Chairman; Mrs. Louise C....
    • Freeport's Second Public School

    • Schools; School buildings
    • Volume 1, Page 4 [1955 description]: "Built in 1852 and enlarged in 1858, it stood on the west side of South Main Street about where #88 South Main Street is in 1955. The building partially shown at the left was the second Methodist Church. (Mr....
    • Private School

    • Schools; School buildings; Private schools;
    • Volume 1, Page 5 [1955 description]: "For children under 10 years of age was build about 1845. It stands in 1955 on the east side of South Main Street slightly north of where Smith Street intersects (immediately next to brick business buildings). ...
    • Site for Massapequa Public Library

    • Massapequa Public Library (Central Avenue Building); Public libraries; Construction; Signs (Notices)
    • Black and white photograph of future site of Massapequa Public Library circa 1955 looking west at the corner of Central Avenue and New York Avenue. To the right can be seen a sign which reads "Site For Massapequa Public Library." To the left...
    • [Band formation]

    • Marching bands; Freeport Stadium--Freeport (N.Y.); Freeport High School--Freeport (N.Y.)
    • Black and white photograph of the Freeport High School in formation at the football field in Freeport Stadium. Businesses advertised on the wall included: Shoe King Sams, Tilden for Brakes, Robin Hood Surplus Centers, and Cadillac Pontiac.
    • Bayview Avenue School

    • Classrooms; Freeport Public Schools--Freeport (N.Y.); Schools--Freeport (N.Y.); Schools; School children
    • Black and white photograph of Dorothy C. Ding's fourth grade class at Bayview Avenue School.
    • Bayview Avenue School

    • Classrooms; Freeport Public Schools--Freeport (N.Y.); School children; Schools--Freeport (N.Y.)
    • Black and white photograph of third grade class of teacher Anna L. Ferguson. Those standing are Arthur Lazarus, John Freeman, Stanley Snyder, William Yanker, William Kappel, Anna L. Ferguson, Richard Powell, William Vivian, Roby Kaland, and Glenn...
    • Methodist's Second Church

    • Methodist churches; Methodist church buildings;
    • Volume 1, Page 14 [1955 description]: "Built about 1860, was on the west side of South Main Street, about where #90 South Main Street is located in 1955. The gentleman with a beard in the center of the picture was the pastor. The main outer...
    • [Bicycle Rodeo]

    • Bicycles; Children; Randall Park--Freeport (N.Y.)
    • Black and white photograph of Warren Leidel receiving a bronze bicycle trophy for highest mark in the recreation, police department safety skill contest. There are three officials in the photo. Two of the officials are John Ryan and Mr. Stroessel.
    • [Bicycle Rodeo]

    • Bicycles; Children; Randall Park--Freeport (N.Y.)
    • Black and white photograph of bicycle rodeo at Randall Park. There is a boy with a bicycle approaching two construction cones. There are other children in the distance with bicycles and a woman bystander.
    • [Donna-Lou Murray]

    • Randall Park--Freeport (N.Y.); Contests; Murray, Donna Lou; Bicycles
    • Black and white photograph of Donna-Lou Murray, winner of the outstanding decorated bicycle contest. The contest was a part of the bicycle rodeo held at Randall Park.
    • Wide Open Spaces Existed in 1912

    • Football; Athletic fields;
    • Volume 2, Page 46a [1955 description]: "This view shows a portion of an entire city block upon which there were no structures. I was used as an athletic field. This area was bounded by Main Street, Ocean Avenue, Seaman Avenue, and Lincoln...
    • View of Archer Street and Ocean Avenue

    • Archer Street - Freeport (N.Y.); Ocean Avenue - Freeport (N.Y.); Streets; Dwellings
    • Volume 3, Page 90a [1955 description]: "This picture was taken looking north on Ocean Avenue, when there were few residences. In 1955 handsome homes occupy the vacant lots shown here."
    • Earliest Cement Block Building

    • Dwellings; houses; Main Street--Freeport (N.Y.)
    • Volume 2, Page 49-A [1955 description]:"This residence erected before 1800, was built of blocks made of cement and sand taken from a brook at the rear of the lot. It stood about where North Main Street is in 1955. The building was once owned by...
    • Oldest House in Freeport

    • Dwellings; Houses;
    • Volume 2, Page 49-B [1955 description]: "Built in 1795, twenty years after the Revolutionary War, it was located in Bedell's Woods which extended from Lena Avenue almost to Brooklyn Avenue and from Main Street to Long Beach Avenue. In 1805 it...
    • Bird's Eye View

    • Streets; Dwellings;
    • Volume 3, Page 97 [1955 description]: "Bird's Eye View of North Long Beach Avenue, Pearsall and Randall Avenues. This view looking northeast, about 1912, shows a white residence at the corner of Randall and Long Beach Avenue, which still stands in...
    • Sigmond's Opera House

    • Sigmond's Opera House - Freeport (N.Y.); Theaters;
    • Volume 2, Page 63 [1955 description]: "Later known as the "American Theater." It was located on the west side of South Main Street about where No. 70 South Main Street stands in 1955. The building was destroyed by fire in 1923. (Mr. John T....
    • Williams Livery Stable

    • Stables; Freeport Fire Department - Freeport (N.Y.); Fire stations;
    • Volume 2, Page 63-A [1955 description]: About 1900. It was located on the west side of South Main Street, about where No. 54 South Main Street stands in 1955. At one time the north end of this building housed one of the fire engines of the...
    • Benson House

    • Benson House--Freeport (N.Y.); Hotels
    • Volume 2, Page 64 [1955 description]: "A very popular commercial travelers' hotel in 1902. It was located on the east side of South Main Street about where No. 87 South Main Street stands in 1955. (Mr. G. Benson Smith)"
    • Freeport Post Office, 1891

    • Freeport Post Office - Freeport (N.Y.); Post offices;
    • Volume 2, Page 65 [1955 description]: "Was located on the east side of South Main Street, about where #91 South Main Street stands in 1955(Mr. C. Milton Foreman)" [Also visible in photograph]: Signs for "D.B. Raynor Boots, Shoes, Hats, and Caps"...

QuickView

Display a larger image and more item information when the pointer pauses over a thumbnail
 

Layout options:

Select the collections to add or remove from your search
A
B
C
D
E
F
G
H
I
J
K
L
M
N
O
P
Q
R
S
T
U
V
W
X
Y
Z
 
OK
Select the collections to add or remove from your search
A
B
C
D
E
F
G
H
I
J
K
L
M
N
O
P
Q
R
S
T
U
V
W
X
Y
Z
 
OK