Skip to main content

Long Island Memories

Add or remove other collections to your search:



Narrow your search by:



You've searched: All Collections

  • All fields: 1977
(120 results)



Display: 50

    • Board of Trustees, 1977

    • Citizens; Mayors & Trustees
    • Board of Trustees 1977 (l-r): George A. Nagle, Jr., William O. Dwyer, Daniel V. Duff, James F. Dooley (Mayor), Raymond L. Regan, Warren Wytzka, Peter E. Gall, J. Raymond Stuart
    • [Christeen]

    • Glenwood Landing (N.Y.); Boating--Glenwood Landing (N.Y.); Landmarks--Glenwood Landing (N.Y.); Waterfront--Glenwood Landing (N.Y.)
    • The Christeen, built as an oyster sloop in Glenwood Landing in 1883 and designated a National Historic Landmark in 1991, docked in ice at an unspecified location with the words Christeen, Locust, N.J. visible on the back (stern); taken sometime...
    • [Christeen]

    • Glenwood Landing (N.Y.); Boating--Glenwood Landing (N.Y.); Landmarks--Glenwood Landing (N.Y.); Waterfront--Glenwood Landing (N.Y.)
    • The Christeen, built in Glenwood Landing in 1883 as an oyster sloop and designated a National Historic Landmark in 1991, docked in ice at an unspecified location viewed from the right (starboard) side taken sometime between 1958 and 1977, when the...
    • JPL Local History exhibit

    • Library exhibits Local History-miscellanea
    • Display in Library cases of historical items donated by by Phebe Seaman, Esther Hicks Emory, Margaret H.Wolf, and Frances B. Tollaver November 1977
    • Camp Upton WWI - 1977

    • Camp Upton (N.Y.); World War I, 1914-1918; Historic buildings; Military camps; Young Men's Christian associations; Laundries (Rooms & spaces); Entertainers; Bakeries;
    • This is a 12 page pamphlet including front and back covers. It describes Camp Upton, NY, a military training camp, during World War I. It contains both photographs and text. This pamphlet expands on the 1974 pamphlet and has additional...
    • Romeo and Juliet

    • John Cranford Adams Playhouse; Hofstra Shakespeare Festival; College theater; Theater--production and direction; Shakespeare, William, 1564-1616. Romeo and Juliet.
    • Scene from “Romeo and Juliet.” Left to right: Michael Bertolini, Lydia Leeds.
    • Near 540 Middle Neck Road across from Alert Fire Company building

    • League (Great Neck, N.Y.); Great Neck Library (Great Neck, N.Y.); Boys -- Societies and clubs -- New York (State) -- Great Neck; Great Neck, N.Y.
    • Black and white image of The League, a young men's club that ceased to exist after 1907. This building was also the home of the Great Neck Library between 1892 and 1903. The league building had a bowling alley in it.
    • West side of Middle Neck Road near Clover Drive

    • Idylhurst (Estate) -- Great Neck (N.Y.); Country homes -- Great Neck (N.Y.); Windmills -- New York (State) -- Great Neck; Great Neck Estates, N.Y.
    • Black and white image, printed on paper, of the home and estate known as Idylhurst, which may have been owned by the Cook family, the Ryan family, the Phillips family, and Raymond Hitchcock, a noted Broadway writer / performer / producer. This...
    • [Joel Halpern]

    • Speed boats; Halpern, Joel
    • Black and white photograph of Joel Halpern who helped sponsored both the Freeport offshore races. He won U.S. open class championships in 1976 and 1977 and was in the Lombardo/Halter Classic.
    • [Joey Ippolito]

    • Speed boats; Ippolito, Joey
    • Black and white photograph of Joey Ippolito an offshore powerboat racer and was APBA Rookie of the Year in 1977. He raced in Freeport, New York.
    • 21 Beach Road

    • Allen Family -- Homes and Haunts; Architecture, Domestic -- Great Neck (N.Y.); Beach Road (Great Neck, N.Y.); Great Neck, N.Y.
    • Color image of the home at 21 Beach Road, built circa 1750 by members of the Allen family, who owned and occupied it up until the late 1900's. This home has been landmarked, and still stands today.
    • 751 Middle Neck Road

    • Middle Neck Road (Great Neck, N.Y.); Architecture, Domestic -- Great Neck (N.Y.); Great Neck, N.Y.
    • Color photograph, taken facing east, of the home at 751 Middle Neck Road. This home sat midway between North Road and Gutheil Lane, on the east side of Middle Neck Road. After lying empty for years, the home was demolished, and the land became part...
    • University Bookstore

    • Hofstra University; University buildings; University campuses; Bookstores
    • Interior of the University Bookstore, two students standing before the Best Sellers display.
    • A History of the East Meadow Public Library

    • East Meadow Public Library (East Meadow, N.Y.) – History; Public Libraries – New York (State) – East Meadow – History; East Meadow (N.Y.) – History; East Meadow (N.Y.) -- Biography
    • Digital version of 32 p. booklet originally published by East Meadow Public Library, East Meadow, 1995. Includes black and white photographs; Contents: The building: Stores. New building. Expansion. The library of the future. – The library...
    • 579 and 581 Middle Neck Road

    • J. Charles Frank and Son Plumbing and Heating Contractors (Great Neck, N.Y.); Middle Neck Road (Great Neck, N.Y.); Commercial Buildings -- Great Neck (N.Y.); Great Neck, N.Y.
    • Black and white image, taken facing east, of 579 and 581 Middle Neck Road, buildings that had once been private homes, but had become mixed use buildings as of the taking of this image in 1977. Among other occupants, 581 Middle Neck Road housed J....
    • 683 to 703 (odd numbered) Middle Neck Road

    • Bohack Supermarket (Great Neck, N.Y.); Box Boutique (Great Neck, N.Y.); Mati's Place (Great Neck, N.Y.); Middle Neck Road (Great Neck, N.Y.)
    • Black and white image, taken facing northeast, showing commercial buildings on Middle Neck Road, opposite the Village Green and the Arrandale School property, between 675 Middle Neck Road and Hicks Lane. Establishments shown in this image include...
    • 695, 697, and 699 Middle Neck Road

    • Mati's Place (Great Neck, N.Y.); Nemeth's Market (Great Neck, N.Y.); Mad Nan Gift Shop (Great Neck, N.Y.); Middle Neck Road (Great Neck, N.Y.)
    • Black and white image, taken facing east, of shops along Middle Neck Road, opposite the Village Green and the Arrandale School property, at 695, 697, and 699 Middle Neck Road. Establishments shown in this image include Mati's Place, a boutique and...
    • [Return of South Main Street]

    • Freeport Mall--Freeport (N.Y.); Shopping centers and malls--Freeport (N.Y.); South Main Street--Freeport (N.Y.)
    • Color slide of the Freeport Mall which was opened in 1977. South Main Street was reopened in 1987 when they took down the Mall. This view is looking north.
    • [Return of South Main Street]

    • Freeport Mall--Freeport (N.Y.); Shopping centers and malls--Freeport (N.Y.); South Main Street--Freeport (N.Y.)
    • Color slide of the Freeport Mall which was opened in 1977. South Main Street was reopened in 1987 when they took down the Mall. Stores are Selene's Beauty Supply, Lloyd's Jewelers, Edie's Originals and Miller Shows. The view is facing north.
    • [Return of South Main Street]

    • Freeport Mall--Freeport (N.Y.); Shopping centers and malls--Freeport (N.Y.); South Main Street--Freeport (N.Y.)
    • Color slide of the Freeport Mall which was opened in 1977. South Main Street was reopened in 1987 when they took down the Mall. In the view are two stores: Miller Shoes and Maria's Boutique.
    • [Return of South Main Street]

    • Freeport Mall--Freeport (N.Y.); Shopping centers and malls--Freeport (N.Y.); South Main Street--Freeport (N.Y.)
    • Color slide of the Freeport Mall which was opened in 1977. South Main Street was reopened in 1987 when they took down the Mall. Glantz Travel is to the right.
    • [Return of South Main Street]

    • Freeport Mall--Freeport (N.Y.); Shopping centers and malls--Freeport (N.Y.); South Main Street--Freeport (N.Y.)
    • Color slide of the Freeport Mall which was opened in 1977. South Main Street was reopened in 1987 when they took down the Mall.
    • [Return of South Main Street]

    • Freeport Mall--Freeport (N.Y.); Shopping centers and malls--Freeport (N.Y.); South Main Street--Freeport (N.Y.)
    • Color slide of the Freeport Mall which was opened in 1977. South Main Street was reopened in 1987 when they took down the Mall.
    • [Return of South Main Street]

    • Freeport Mall--Freeport (N.Y.); Shopping centers and malls--Freeport (N.Y.); South Main Street--Freeport (N.Y.)
    • Color slide of the Freeport Mall which was opened in 1977. South Main Street was reopened in 1987 when they took down the Mall. This was the title slide for a presentation.
    • [Return of South Main Street]

    • Freeport Mall--Freeport (N.Y.); Shopping centers and malls--Freeport (N.Y.); South Main Street--Freeport (N.Y.)
    • Color slide of the Freeport Mall which was opened in 1977. South Main Street was reopened in 1987 when they took down the Mall.
    • [Return of South Main Street]

    • Freeport Mall--Freeport (N.Y.); Shopping centers and malls--Freeport (N.Y.); South Main Street--Freeport (N.Y.)
    • Color slide of the Freeport Mall which was opened in 1977. South Main Street was reopened in 1987 when they took down the Mall. Merrick Road is to the south.
    • [Return of South Main Street]

    • Freeport Mall--Freeport (N.Y.); Shopping centers and malls--Freeport (N.Y.); South Main Street--Freeport (N.Y.)
    • Color slide of the Freeport Mall which was opened in 1977. South Main Street was reopened in 1987 when they took down the Mall. The view show a number of stores: Edie's Originals, Miller Shoes and Maria's Boutique.
    • [Return of South Main Street]

    • Freeport Mall--Freeport (N.Y.); Shopping centers and malls--Freeport (N.Y.); South Main Street--Freeport (N.Y.)
    • Color slide of the Freeport Mall which was opened in 1977. South Main Street was reopened in 1987 when they took down the Mall. Stores include Revere Gift Emporium, Selene's Beauty Supply and Lloyd's Jewelers.
    • Sweet Hollow Presbyterian Church in Melville

    • Churches -- New York (State) -- Melville; Religion -- New York (State) -- Melville; Melville (N.Y.)
    • Color photograph showing the Presbyterian Church in Melville as it stands in 2006, 2 blocks west of Route 110 on the north side of Old Country Road. Part of the complex originally stood at the corner of Sweet Hollow Road and was moved here in...
    • [Return of South Main Street]

    • Freeport Mall--Freeport (N.Y.); Shopping centers and malls--Freeport (N.Y.); South Main Street--Freeport (N.Y.)
    • Color slide of the Freeport Mall which was opened in 1977. South Main Street was reopened in 1987 when they took down the Mall. The view shows the sign - Freeport Village Mall.
    • [Return of South Main Street]

    • Freeport Mall--Freeport (N.Y.); Shopping centers and malls--Freeport (N.Y.); South Main Street--Freeport (N.Y.)
    • Color slide of the Freeport Mall which was opened in 1977. South Main Street was reopened in 1987 when they took down the Mall. The Freeport Bank and CMC architects are in the background. The Olive Building is to the right.

QuickView

Display a larger image and more item information when the pointer pauses over a thumbnail
 

Layout options:

Select the collections to add or remove from your search
A
B
C
D
E
F
G
H
I
J
K
L
M
N
O
P
Q
R
S
T
U
V
W
X
Y
Z
 
OK