Skip to main content

Long Island Memories

Add or remove other collections to your search:



Narrow your search by:



You've searched: All Collections

  • All fields: destroyed
(109 results)



Display: 50

    • Home of Mrs. Miller, Smithtown Branch, Long Island.

    • Dwellings -- New York (State) -- Smithtown; Main Street -- New York (State) -- Smithtown; Miller, James Ely; Miller, Gladys Kissel; Dwellings;
    • Black and white photographic postcard depicting the home of Mrs. James Ely Miller, situated on Main Street in Smithtown Branch. This house was destroyed around 1950 to make way for Smithtown's first shopping center. James Ely Miller, for whom...
    • [90 Smith St.]

    • Urban renewal; Houses; Fires
    • Black and white photograph of the front of the two story frame house at 90 Smith Street. The owner was Ansel Raynor of Seaford. The house had been burned and most of the roof was destroyed.
    • [90 Smith St.]

    • Urban renewal; Houses; Fires
    • Black and white photograph of the rear of the two story frame house at 90 Smith Street. The owner was Ansel Raynor of Seaford. The house had been burned and most of the roof was destroyed.
    • Early Years in Brookhaven Town 1962

    • Brookhaven (N.Y. : Town); Indigenous peoples; Coram (N.Y.); Middle Island (N.Y.); Stores & shops; Churches; Railroad stations; Yaphank (N.Y.); Mills; Historic buildings; Spying; Revolutionary War, American, 1775-1783; Advertising; Lumber industry;
    • 36 page pamphlet, 14 cm x 22 cm including text and images, plus front and back covers.
    • [Original Idle Hour Mansion]

    • Vanderbilt, William K. (William Kissam), 1849-1920 -- Homes and haunts
      Dwellings - New York (State) - Oakdale
      Mansions -- New York (State) -- Oakdale
    • Original Idle Hour mansion belonging to William K. Vanderbilt. The wooden Queen Anne style building, designed by architect Richard Morris Hunt and constructed between 1878-1879, was destroyed by fire in April of 1899. Handwritten note on back of...
    • 1st Oakdale House '92

    • Oakdale (N.Y.) -- Buildings, structures, etc.
      Oakdale (N.Y.) -- History
    • Original Idle Hour mansion belonging to William K. Vanderbilt. The wooden Queen Anne style building, designed by architect Richard Morris Hunt and constructed between 1878-1879, was destroyed by fire in April of 1899.
    • Public Opening Union Free School Building

    • Freeport Public Schools--Freeport (N.Y.); Grove Street School--Freeport (N.Y.)
    • Brochure from the formal opening of the Grove Street School. Located on the corner of Pine Street and Grove Street, the building was open for public inspection on March 9, 1894. The previous building was destroyed by fire in 1893. On the back of...
    • [St. Juvin]

    • World War 1914 - 1918; War damage;
    • Black and white postcard of a destroyed building at Saint-Juvin, France. The 77th Division fought in the town as part of the Meuse-Argonne Offensive.
    • [St. Juvin]

    • World War 1914 - 1918; War damage;
    • Black and white postcard of the destruction in the town of Saint-Juvin after the Meuse-Argonne Offensive. A wheeled cart is in front of a row of destroyed buildings.
    • [Two soldiers standing in the road of Saint-Juvin]

    • World War 1914 - 1918; War damage; Soldiers;
    • Black and white postcard of two soldiers standing in the middle of a road through the town of Saint-Juvin. The town was destroyed during the Meuse-Argonne Offensive. The building behind the soldiers was a church as the cross was still attached to...
    • Freeport's Third Public School

    • Schools; School buildings;
    • Volume 1, Page 7 [1955 description]: "Built in 1875 and added to in 1888, this school was located on the north side of Pine Street, just west of South Grove Street. This picture was taken shortly before it was destroyed by fire on January 8th,...
    • Observer Building

    • Observer Building; South Side Observer; Village Avenue; Observer Street; Sunrise Highway; Fire; Patrick; Library
    • Drawing of the Observer Building, home of the South Side Observer. This building, situated on the northeast corner of N. Village Avenue and Observer Street (now Sunrise Highway), was built after a fire destroyed much of Rockville Centre in 1888. ...
    • [Montfaucon]

    • World War 1914 - 1918; War damage;
    • Black and white postcard of a man standing in in the doorway of a destroyed building in Montfaucon, France. The man is holding onto a cane.
    • Nassau Country Club

    • Club Houses - New York(State) -Glen Cove
    • This is the original Nassau Country Club built in the 1800's by Stanford White. The Club was formed in 1895 as the Queens Country Club by a number of people whose summer homes were in Glen Cove- Oyster Bay area. It was renamed in 1899 to Nassau...
    • Bygone years in Middle Island, Coram, Yaphank & Ridge

    • Middle Island (N.Y.); Coram (N.Y.); Yaphank (N.Y.); Ridge (N.Y.); Brookhaven (N.Y. : Town); Historic buildings; Historic sites; Churches; Schools; Stores & shops; Lakes & ponds; Airplanes; Mills; Railroad bridges; Railroad stations; Railroad...
    • This is a 20 page pamphlet including the cover describing the towns of Middle Island, Coram, Yaphank and Ridge from the time of their establishment including pictures from the late 1800s until about 1940.
    • Nassau Country Club, Glen Cove

    • Club Houses - New York(State) -Glen Cove
    • This is the original Nassau Country Club built in the 1800's by Stanford White. The Club was formed in 1895 as the Queens Country Club by a number of people whose summer homes were in Glen Cove- Oyster Bay area. It was renamed in 1899 to Nassau...
    • Nassau Country Club

    • Club Houses - New York(State) -Glen Cove
    • The Nassau Country Club was formed in 1895 as the Queens Country Club by a number of people whose summer homes were in Glen Cove- Oyster Bay area. It was renamed in 1899 to Nassau Country Club. A fire destroyed the original building and this...
    • [Destroyed Building During WWI]

    • World War 1914 - 1918; War damage;
    • Black and white postcard of the ruins of a building during World War I. The stone and lumber from the building are piled into the street. Part of a wall and the fence are still standing.
    • St. Mark's Methodist Church

    • St. Mark; Methodist; Church; Merrick Road; Village Avenue; fire
    • St. Mark's Methodist Church located on the corner of Merrick Road and Village Avenue, was built in 1893. It replaced the church that was erected in 1871 in the same spot. Electricity was installed in 1898 and the first telephone was installed in...
    • Oakdale House '92

    • Vanderbilt, William K. (William Kissam), 1849-1920 -- Homes and haunts
      Dwellings - New York (State) - Oakdale
      Mansions -- New York (State) -- Oakdale
    • Back view of the original Idle Hour mansion belonging to William K. Vanderbilt. The wooden Queen Anne style building, designed by architect Richard Morris Hunt and constructed between 1878-1879, was destroyed by fire in April of 1899.
    • Freeport: Past and Present, with a Prospect of Its Future

    • Methodist churches; Freeport Methodist Church--Freeport (N.Y.); Maps--Freeport (N.Y.)
    • Historical Souvenir of the Summer Festival of the Ladies' Aid Society of the Freeport Methodist Episcopal Church, August 21-22, 1900. This pamphlet includes a history of Freeport, advertisements for local businesses, pictures of houses and public...
    • St. Bernard's Roman Catholic Church

    • Church; Levittown
    • St. Bernard's second church building was built on the foundation of the first church that was destroyed by fire in 1970. It was dedicated in 1971. Ten years later, the church was razed after being condemned. Yet another church was built in 1985.
    • Port Washington Hotel, Port Washington, L.I.

    • Streets; Main Street--Port Washington (N.Y.); Port Washington Hotel--Port Washington (N.Y.);
    • Port Washington Hotel, shown shortly after the first section of the Port Washington Town Dock was completed in 1908, was built in the 1870s by Peter Hults. John F. Bradley purchased the hotel in 1905 and later renamed it Bradleys. Bradley's Seafood...
    • "Jeruselem Dilly"

    • Photographs; Photos; People; Men; Women; Carts & wagons; Horses; East Hampton (N.Y.)
    • Caption on reverse reads: This old vehicle, called "Jeruselem Dilly," was built in 1824 for John T. Dayton of Hardscrabble Farm, on the Sag Harbor road. Living so far out of the village, he wanted a more comfortable conveyance than the usual clumsy...

QuickView

Display a larger image and more item information when the pointer pauses over a thumbnail
 

Layout options:

Select the collections to add or remove from your search
A
B
C
D
E
F
G
H
I
J
K
L
M
N
O
P
Q
R
S
T
U
V
W
X
Y
Z
 
OK