Skip to main content

Long Island Memories

Add or remove other collections to your search:



Narrow your search by:



You've searched: All Collections

  • All fields: housed
(89 results)



Display: 50

    • 540 to 607 (odd and even numbered) Middle Neck Road

    • Nassau Radio and Television Company (Great Neck, N.Y.); Bachet Designers Clothes (Great Neck, N.Y.); Middle Neck Road (Great Neck, N.Y.); Commercial Buildings -- Great Neck (N.Y.)
    • Black and white image, taken facing southeast, of Middle Neck Road and commercial buildings on it. Establishments shown in this image include Nassau Radio and Television Company, Bachet Designers Clothes, George C. Anderson Furniture Refinishing,...
    • Middle Neck Road, intersection of Hicks Lane and Arrandale Avenue

    • Middle Neck Road (Great Neck, N.Y.); Hicks Lane (Great Neck, N.Y.); Arrandale Avenue (Great Neck, N.Y.); Commercial buildings -- Great Neck (N.Y.)
    • Black and white view of an unpaved Middle Neck Road, taken facing north, near the intersection of Hicks Lane and Arrandale Avenue. Horse-drawn carts, automobiles, and telephone and electric lines atop utility poles can be seen in the image. Image...
    • Middle Neck Road, at the intersection of Old Mill Road / Piccadilly Road

    • Service Stations -- New York (State) -- Great Neck; Middle Neck Road (Great Neck, N.Y.); Old Mill Road (Great Neck, N.Y.); Piccadilly Road (Great Neck, N.Y.)
    • Black and white image, taken facing northeast, of the intersection of Middle Neck Road and Old Mill Road / Piccadilly Road. Image shows the "Wedding Cake Building" that once housed the Mitchell Dance Studio and the Texaco Towers Service Station....
    • Intersection of Middle Neck Road and Fairview Avenue

    • John Papas Unlimited (Great Neck, N.Y.); Fairview Avenue (Great Neck, N.Y.); Middle Neck Road (Great Neck, N.Y.); Commercial Buildings -- Great Neck (N.Y.)
    • Black and white image, taken facing northeast, of the intersection of Middle Neck Road and Fairview Avenue. Image shows odd numbered addresses on Middle Neck road from 607 to 625. Establishments shown in this image include Nassau Radio and...
    • Intersection of Middle Neck Road and Fairview Avenue

    • Dick's Luncheonette (Great Neck, N.Y.); Fairview Avenue (Great Neck, N.Y.); Middle Neck Road (Great Neck, N.Y.); Commercial Buildings -- Great Neck (N.Y.)
    • Black and white image, taken facing southeast, of the intersection of Middle Neck Road and Fairview Avenue. Image shows odd numbered addresses on Middle Neck road from 599 to 613. Establishments shown in this image include Mark Harris Haircutters,...
    • A. G. Silliman Bakery, Smithtown Branch, Long Island, New York

    • Bakeries; Business enterprises -- New York (State) -- Smithtown; Main Street -- New York (State) -- Smithtown;
    • Sepia photograph of a man (perhaps Mr. A. G. Silliman, owner of the bakery) standing in front of the A. G. Silliman Bakery that was located on Middle Country Road (Route 25 or Main Street) in Smithtown Branch, Long Island, New York. Over the years...
    • 160 Steamboat Road

    • John Britton Homeward Hotel (Great Neck, N.Y.); Steamboat Road (Great Neck, N.Y.); Hotels -- New York (State) -- Great Neck; Great Neck, N.Y.
    • Black and white image of the John Britton Homeward Hotel, which also housed a saloon. Sign below hotel sign reads, "Federal Brew'g Co. Lager Beer." The property in this image was later the home of Kings Point Indoor Tennis, west of Potters Lane on...
    • Original South Side High School

    • South Side High School; College Place; Hillside; Village Hall; Murray
    • The original South Side High School was built on College Place at a cost of $20, 365.45. It opened February 1892. The Rockville Centre Public Library was housed on the second floor of this building from the late 1800's until the Clinton Avenue...
    • Webb Institute

    • Buildings - New York(State) -Glen Cove
    • Webb Institute. The Webb Institute of Naval Architecture was founded in 1889 by industrialist Willaim Henry Webb who had established his career as a preeminent shipbuilder in the 19th century. For 50 years, the Webb Institute was housed on fourteen...
    • [Construction of Freeport High School]

    • Freeport High School; Schools--Freeport (N.Y.); Milburn Pond--Freeport (N.Y.)
    • Color slide of the construction of Freeport High School looking north from Merrick Road. The red-roofed building that housed the carousel of Nunley's Amusement Park, can be seen in the distance. Milburn Pond is in the foreground. Photograph taken...
    • Site of New High School

    • Freeport High School; Schools--Freeport (N.Y.)
    • Color slide of the site of the new Freeport High School looking west from Brookside Avenue along Sunrise Highway. The red-roofed building that housed the carousel of Nunley's Amusement Park, can be seen in the distance. The photograph was taken...
    • School Annex

    • Schools; Levittown
    • One of Levittown’s first schools, Wisdom Lane opened in 8 Quonset huts on November 3, 1948. It housed kindergarten through third grade. The school was constructed of prefabricated huts made of semi-circular sheets of metal to form the walls.
    • [Site of Freeport High School]

    • Freeport High School; Schools--Freeport (N.Y.)
    • Color slide of the site of Freeport High School looking northwest from Brookside Avenue. The red-roofed building that housed the carousel of Nunley's Amusement Park, can be seen in the distance. The photograph was taken in April 1957.
    • Plaza Building

    • Streets; Main Street - Port Washington (N.Y.); Stores and shops; Plaza Stationery--Port Washington (N.Y.); H. Katims Optometrist--Port Washington (N.Y.); Radio--Equipment and supplies; General Radio and Television--Port Washington (N.Y.); Duells...
    • Plaza Building, located at #72- 88 Main Street, Port Washington [NY], ca. 1948, housed several prominent local businesses, including Plaza Stationery (later Starbucks location) Duell's Meat Market and long-standing tenant H. Katims Optometrist,...
    • City Hall, Glen Cove

    • Public Buildings - New York(State) - Glen Cove
    • City Hall, Glen Cove. Postcard located on Glen Cove Avenue and Bridge Street. In 1995, City Hall was moved to 9 Glen Street where it is housed today (2008).
    • Port Washington Hotel, Port Washington, L.I.

    • Streets; Main Street--Port Washington (N.Y.); Port Washington Hotel--Port Washington (N.Y.);
    • Port Washington Hotel, shown shortly after the first section of the Port Washington Town Dock was completed in 1908, was built in the 1870s by Peter Hults. John F. Bradley purchased the hotel in 1905 and later renamed it Bradleys. Bradley's Seafood...
    • Monarch Garage, Hempstead (Village) N.Y.

    • Hempstead (Village) N.Y.; business enterprises; Franklin Street; Stafford, Floyd B.
    • Workshop of the Monarch Garage located on Franklin Street. Seven men working on part of automobile. The shop was operated by Floyd B. Stafford and John Dorlon and the garage was housed in a building built by Frank Mollineaux. Old license plate...
    • A History of the East Meadow Public Library

    • East Meadow Public Library (East Meadow, N.Y.) – History; Public Libraries – New York (State) – East Meadow – History; East Meadow (N.Y.) – History; East Meadow (N.Y.) -- Biography
    • Digital version of 32 p. booklet originally published by East Meadow Public Library, East Meadow, 1995. Includes black and white photographs; Contents: The building: Stores. New building. Expansion. The library of the future. – The library...
    • 567 to 573 (odd numbered) Middle Neck Road

    • Ye Towne Trading Post (Great Neck, N.Y.); Regal Home Products (Great Neck, N.Y.); Middle Neck Road (Great Neck, N.Y.); Commercial Buildings -- Great Neck (N.Y.)
    • Black and white image, taken facing east, of storefronts on Middle Neck Road, and a private home behind them. Establishments shown in this image include French Way Cleaners and Tailors, Regal Home Products (Regal Aluminum Products), and Ye Towne...
    • Original Half Hollow Hills Community Library

    • Schools -- New York (State) -- Melville; Melville (N.Y.); Historic buildings -- New York (State) -- Melville; Libraries -- New York (State) -- Suffolk County
    • Black and white photograph of the Upper Melville School with awnings as it looked when it housed the entire public library in two small rooms upstairs and one down. In 1967 a much larger library was built on Vanderbilt Parkway in Dix Hills, and...
    • 559 to 575 (odd numbered) Middle Neck Road

    • District Courts -- New York (State) -- Great Neck; Lionell's Beauty Salon (Great Neck, N.Y.); Middle Neck Road (Great Neck, N.Y.); Commercial Buildings -- Great Neck (N.Y.)
    • Black and white image, taken facing east, of storefronts on Middle Neck Road. Establishments shown in this image include the 3rd District Court of Nassau County, Ye Towne Trading Post, a second hand and antique shop, Regal Home Products (Regal...
    • 579 and 581 Middle Neck Road

    • J. Charles Frank and Son Plumbing and Heating Contractors (Great Neck, N.Y.); Middle Neck Road (Great Neck, N.Y.); Commercial Buildings -- Great Neck (N.Y.); Great Neck, N.Y.
    • Black and white image, taken facing east, of 579 and 581 Middle Neck Road, buildings that had once been private homes, but had become mixed use buildings as of the taking of this image in 1977. Among other occupants, 581 Middle Neck Road housed J....
    • Schneider General Store, circa 1887

    • Melville (N.Y.) -- Social life and customs; General Stores -- New York (State) -- Melville; Schneider family.
    • Black and white photograph showing the general store at Walt Whitman and Schneider Street. The store sold pots and pans, shoes, feed and groceries. It also housed the post office, barber shop, and the village telephone. A large pot-bellied stove...
    • 619 to 625 (odd numbered) Middle Neck Road

    • Manhattan Provisions (Great Neck, N.Y.); Gilliar's Liquor Shop (Great Neck, N.Y.); Middle Neck Road (Great Neck, N.Y.); Commercial Buildings -- Great Neck (N.Y.)
    • Black and white image, taken facing east, of buildings on Middle Neck Road, near the intersection with Beach Road. Image shows odd numbered addresses on Middle Neck Road from 619 to 625. Establishments shown in this image include Gilliar's Liquor...
    • Intersection of Middle Neck Road and Beach Road

    • George V. Bullen and Son (Great Neck, N.Y.); Gilliar and Gilliar Pharmacists (Great Neck, N.Y.); Middle Neck Road (Great Neck, N.Y.); Commercial Buildings -- Great Neck (N.Y.)
    • Black and white image, taken facing southeast, of the intersection of Middle Neck Road and Beach Road. Image shows odd numbered addresses on Middle Neck Road from 607 to 625. Establishments shown in this image include Nassau Radio and Television...
    • 637 to 647 (odd numbered) Middle Neck Road

    • Jem Stationery (Great Neck, N.Y.); Village Coffee Shop (Great Neck, N.Y.); Middle Neck Road (Great Neck, N.Y.); Commercial Buildings -- Great Neck (N.Y.)
    • Black and white image, taken facing southeast, of buildings on Middle Neck Road, opposite the Village Green. Image shows odd numbered addresses on Middle Neck Road from 637 to 647. Establishments shown in this image include Jem Stationery, William...
    • 695, 697, and 699 Middle Neck Road

    • Mati's Place (Great Neck, N.Y.); Nemeth's Market (Great Neck, N.Y.); Mad Nan Gift Shop (Great Neck, N.Y.); Middle Neck Road (Great Neck, N.Y.)
    • Black and white image, taken facing east, of shops along Middle Neck Road, opposite the Village Green and the Arrandale School property, at 695, 697, and 699 Middle Neck Road. Establishments shown in this image include Mati's Place, a boutique and...
    • Baylis House

    • Dwellings -- New York (State) -- Melville;Post office buildings -- New York (State) -- Melville.
    • Black and white photograph showing the Baylis House which housed Melville's first post office in 1852. The house still stands in 2006 on the north side of Old Country Road just west of Route 110.
    • Completing Alien Camp at Upton

    • World War II; Prisoner of War Camps--United States;
    • Black and white photograph of workers completing the gate to the Prisoner of War Camp at Camp Upton, Long Island, NY. News clipping on the back of the photo states: 'Workmen are shown completing work on the main entrance gate to the alien...
    • At or near 540 Middle Neck Road

    •  
    • Sepia toned image of the interior of The League, a club for young men that ceased to exist after 1907. The building that housed The League was also the home of the Great Neck Library between 1892 and 1903. The League building had a bowling alley in...
    • Quanahasset Hotel

    • Pen Drawing; Brentwood (N.Y.)--Buildings
    • This hotel is located across from the Brentwood Railraod Station. It was built in 1870. The lower floor housed a post office and Koehlers General Merchandise Store. The post office was moved to the hotel when Thompson Station was no longer used...
    • Williams Livery Stable

    • Stables; Freeport Fire Department - Freeport (N.Y.); Fire stations;
    • Volume 2, Page 63-A [1955 description]: About 1900. It was located on the west side of South Main Street, about where No. 54 South Main Street stands in 1955. At one time the north end of this building housed one of the fire engines of the...

QuickView

Display a larger image and more item information when the pointer pauses over a thumbnail
 

Layout options:

Select the collections to add or remove from your search
A
B
C
D
E
F
G
H
I
J
K
L
M
N
O
P
Q
R
S
T
U
V
W
X
Y
Z
 
OK